…but I Wanna See It, Damn It!?!

May 30, 2013 at 10:03 PM (curious research, current news, movie reviews, public debate, social opinion, web gossip)


I am one that will read the online postings and reviews in order to keep up with current events, and so on.  I try to stay abreast of supposedly relevant information, so that I can be aware of details, possibly even having some flakes of facts to share with random readers.  Anyhow.

As I was browsing the web earlier, I looked through reviews of the upcoming movie releases for this weekend.  Like several people, I am excited about seeing After Earth, the movie featuring the father and son duo of Will and Jaden Smith.  I am a big sci-fi fan, and I am a fan of The Smiths.  I figured that this movie should be a total blast for me!

I do not really pay that much attention to the opinions of various Hollywood reviewers and film critics before I have the time to make my own assessments of the films that I want to see.  Yet, I am so excited about seeing After Earth that I took the time to go onto some sites to see what was being said about the film by some of those who have seen the film already.  Boy!  This one fellow was NOT PLEASED!!!

A Mr. Richard Lawson with The Atlantic Wire basically wrote that After Earth sucked!  He stated that the film displayed a strange depiction of the relationship between father and son Will and Jaden Smith, with the elder Smith consistently trying to show the younger Smith trying to learn how to be a man.  He is confused about the capacity for strange new forms of life to have evolved on our planet on a brief time period of one thousand years (that is a very short amount of time for new life forms to evolve….).  Lawson even bombs on young Jaden Smith because he does not seem to sound as articulate as he could or should be at the point of presentation for a mega-blockbuster film release!

Well!  I am still going to see the film tomorrow.  I will see it, and I will judge for myself.  I am a sci-fi fan, and I am a fan of The Smiths.  I recognize that may put me at a state of bias, yet if the movie is any good, than it should get a good review, regardless.  I truly enjoy science fiction, so if there is an actually decent plot, and believable action, then I will buy into it.  I will see tomorrow….

FFN_Smith_Will_FLYNETUK_052313_51108432-BorderMaker

SEE THESE SITES!!!

http://news.yahoo.com/earth-jaden-show-194100328.html

http://www.space.com/20783-after-earth-will-smith-movie-photos.html

http://www.commonsensemedia.org/movie-reviews/after-earth

http://www.movietalkies.com/movies/reviews/20772/after-earth

http://www.etonline.com/…Will_Jaden…Life_After_Earth/index.html

 

Leave a Reply

